The Heart is Deceitful

I was struck by this Radio Australia News article about a teenage suicide bomber who had survived his bombing attempt.

“They prayed all the time and read the Koran so I thought they were good people.”
“My heart told me to go and train with them.”

There is a lesson for Christians in this.

The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it? Jeremiah 17:9 ESV

How often do we see evangelical Christians express what their natural intuitions, gut-feelings, or heart tell them with “God told me” or “God has been teaching me?”  We often see statements like that go completely unchallenged or worse affirmed as being correct.

Understand that I am not saying that it is improper to ever say that “God taught/is teaching me” through an experience, a scripture passage, a friend’s verbal counsel, but that we must be on guard with equating the leading of our frequently fallible, always sinful heart and spirit with God’s infallible Holy Spirit.

We must begin with the Word and interpret within and alongside a community of wise, mature believers (including those who are no longer alive).  Neither group-thinking emotionalism or rugged individualistic rationalism is a sure guide of the Truth.

About Mike Sung Im

Trying to love of God with all my heart, mind, strength, and soul. Trying to love others as myself. I'll let you know when I get there.
This entry was posted in Theology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

