My God, my God why hast Thou forsaken me?

Matt 27:46

And about the ninth hour Jesus cried out with a loud voice, saying, “Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?” that is, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

Mark 15:34

And at the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

It is often noted that it is helpful to remember that Jesus cry of “‘My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” is not a cry of lost faith, but instead is a recitation of the first verse of Psalm 22.

Psalm 22:1

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, from the words of my groaning?

It points us to the fact that Psalm 22 was at the forefront of Jesus’ mind during His ordeal.  He was consciously and methodically fulfilling Scripture while on the cross just as He did with the rest of His ministry.  His exclamation of the cry of Psalm 22:1 is not, as some have claimed, an exceptional moment of doubt, but rather a wholly typical moment of Jesus faith in God and of the certainty in his mission.

What is less often noted but just as important is that Jesus last utterance “It is finished!”in John 19:30 is an echo of the last line of the very same psalm (22:31)

“…they shall come and proclaim his righteousness to a people yet unborn, that HE HAS DONE IT.”

Some scholars consequently believe that Jesus recited the entirety of Psalm 22 while on the cross.  It has been profitable to me to have Psalm 22 open before me as I meditate on the crucifixion and resurrection of our Lord and I commend to you for meditation.  Let the opening and closing lines of the 22nd Psalm be the bookends for your understanding of what transpired on that beautiful scandalous night (afternoon).

About Mike Sung Im

Trying to love of God with all my heart, mind, strength, and soul. Trying to love others as myself. I'll let you know when I get there.
This entry was posted in Theology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

