From Victoria’s Secret Model to Proverbs 31 wife?

In November of 2011 a Baylor freshman posted on his facebook “I’d rather have a Proverbs 31 woman than a Victoria’s Secret model.” His video and website (live31.org) quickly went viral.

Using Proverbs 31 this young man challenged young women not to be fooled into putting their value in merely their quickly fading external beauty but to cultivate and pursue godliness and he challenged young men to pursue women not for their looks but for their character.

Here comes the next development:

Kylie Bisutti, who beat 10,000 other young women to become an ACTUAL Victoria’s Secret Model in their 2009 Model Search competition writes how she gave up being a Victoria’s Secret Model to pursue being a Proverbs 31 wife.

She detailed some of the thinking that went into the change of heart in an interview on Good Morning America.

It wasn’t negative experiences in modeling itself that turned her off from lingerie modeling but her deepening understanding of the implications of her faith.

I actually loved it while I was there, it was so much fun and I had a blast. But the more I was modelling lingerie—and lingerie isn’t clothing—I just started becoming more uncomfortable with it because of my faith. I’m Christian, and reading the Bible more, I was becoming more convicted about it.

Rather than view her body as a merely physical commodity to be utilized to maximum effect, she began to see her body as part of her walk with the Lord.

My body should only be for my husband and it’s just a sacred thing.

…[from now on] the jobs that I choose are always going to be honoring the Lord

According to the interview she relates that she also began to realize that in addition to lingerie modeling she was role modeling for young girls.

I was doing my makeup in the mirror one day and she [her 8 year old cousin] was just watching me. I was like ‘What’s going on?’ and she just looked at me and [said] ‘I think I want to stop eating so I can look like you. It just broke my heart, you know, because she looks up to me and I didn’t want to be the type of person that she thought she had to do that to be beautiful.

I am greatly encouraged to see this godly young man and woman being committed to a supportive local church and to studying God Word.

Christ also led my husband and I to a great church that has helped me so much. It is a lot easier to stay grounded when you are plugged into a church and fellowship with other believers. I also stay committed to reading the bible. I’m so grateful for Christ’s mercy and grace and I am so passionate about now being a positive Godly role model, who lives for and fears the Lord.

About Mike Sung Im

Trying to love of God with all my heart, mind, strength, and soul. Trying to love others as myself. I'll let you know when I get there.
This entry was posted in Theology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

